About Central Electric

Central Electric Cooperative is one of Oregon’s 18 member-owned cooperative electric utilities. CEC is a transmission and distribution cooperative. Its source of wholesale electricity is the federal power marketing agency, the Bonneville Power Administration. Central Electric obtains this supply through Portland, Oregon based PNGC Power, a generation and transmission cooperative owned by 14 Northwest electric distribution cooperative utilities, including CEC. CEC provides electric service to portions of Deschutes, Crook, Jefferson, Grant, Linn, Wasco and Lake counties, in central and eastern Oregon.


  • President & CEO: Dave Markham
  • Chief Financial Officer: Rawleigh White
  • Director of Operations & Engineering: Brad Wilson
  • Corporate Information Officer: Lisa Cutter
  • Director of Member & Public Relations: Brent ten Pas
  • Director of Customer & Energy Services: Ryan Davies

24-Hour Phone Numbers:

  • Redmond: (541) 548-2144
  • Bend: (541) 389-1980
  • Madras: (541) 475-3266
  • Prineville: (541) 447-5321
  • Sisters: (541) 549-5698
  • Out of Service Area: (800) 924-8736

Governance / Board of Directors:

As a member-owned electric cooperative, Central Electric is governed by a board of directors elected by membership on a district-by-district basis. Terms are for three years and every year three of the nine directors stand for election before those members living in his/her district. Following are the locations of the CEC districts, the serving board member, and the year each stands for re-election:

  • District 1, Sisters: William (Bill) Rainey (2021)
  • District 2, Tumalo: William (Boyd) Keeton, Chairman (2020)
  • District 3, Madras: Kip Light, Vice Chairman (2020)
  • District 4, Powell Butte: Kelly McFarlane (2022)
  • District 5, Terrebonne: Tom Strand, (2020)
  • District 6, Redmond: Beverly Clarno (2022)
  • District 7, Alfalfa: Ken Miltenberger (2021)
  • District 8, Bend: Dan Steelhammer, (2021)
  • District 9, Prineville: Shirley McCullough (2022)

Central Electric Cooperative, Inc. Background

A member-owned, not-for-profit electric cooperative, Central Electric Cooperative (CEC) has provided electric utility services to its members in central Oregon since 1941. At the close of 2017, CEC served 33,853 accounts held by 27,162 members in its 5,300 square-mile service territory in Deschutes, Crook, Jefferson, and parts of Lake, Linn, Wasco, and Grant counties. CEC’s electrical system includes 24 substations and 3,924 miles of energized power lines, including 185 miles of transmission line, 2,264 miles of overhead distribution line and 1,475 miles of underground distribution line.